## **ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA**

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

No. ECI/PN/182/2025

19.02.2025

## **Press Note**

## Shri Gyanesh Kumar assumes charge as the 26th CEC of India

Shri Gyanesh Kumar today assumed charge as the 26th Chief Election Commissioner of India in pursuance of the Ministry of Law & Justice Gazette notification dated 17.02.2025.



After assuming charge as CEC, Shri Gyanesh Kumar in his message to the voters said that the first step for nation building is voting and every citizen of India who has completed 18 Yrs of age should become an elector and should always vote. He added that in accordance with the Constitution of India, Electoral Laws, Rules and Instructions issued therein, the Election Commission was, is and will always be with the voters.

Shri Gyanesh Kumar took charge as Election Commissioner on 15th of March, 2024. During his tenure as Election Commissioner, elections were held for the 18th Lok Sabha, State/UT Assemblies of Jammu and Kashmir, Haryana, Maharashtra, Jharkhand and NCT of Delhi. Shri Gyanesh Kumar is a 1988 Batch Indian Administrative Service of the Kerala Cadre. He has a rich and varied experience working in both central and state governments. At the centre, he held various portfolios including Joint Secretary, Ministry of Defence; Additional Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs; Secretary, Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs & Ministry of Cooperation.

In the State Government of Kerala, he headed various departments such as Finance Resources; Public Works Department and Food, Civil Supplies & Consumer Affairs. He was also MD of Kerala State Development Corporation for SC/ST and also served as District Collector of Ernakulam and Municipal Commissioner of Cochin Corporation.

Shri Gyanesh Kumar is a Civil Engineer from IIT Kanpur and has also studied Business Finance from ICFAI, India and Environmental Economics from Harvard University, USA.

Any Clarket

Anuj Chandak Director